Ayumi Hirano-IwataPrincipal Investigator, Ph.D.

Job Professor and Principal Investigator, WPI-AIMR
Professor, Research Institute of Electrical Communication
Group Soft Materials Group
Laboratory A. Hirano Laboratory
Address Office 5-5, AIMR Laboratory Building, Katahira Campus
(2-1-1, Katahira, Aoba-ku, Sendai 980-8577)
Room A307, Laboratory of Nanoelectronics and Spintronics, Research Institute of Electrical Communication, Katahira Campus
(2-1-1, Katahira, Aoba-ku, Sendai 980-8577)
Tel 022-217-6433
E-Mail ayumi.hirano.a5@tohoku.ac.jp
Related Site

Research Interests

  • Biodevices based on nano- and micro-structures
  • Reconstruction of biological functions on solid substrates
  • Electronic and ionic devices based on 2D biological materials

Main Publication List

  • Free-Standing Lipid Bilayers in Silicon Chips-Membrane Stabilization Based on Microfabricated Apertures with a Nanometer-Scale Smoothness. Langmuir, 26, 1949–1952 (2010). Ayumi Hirano-Iwata, Kouji Aoto, Azusa Oshima, Tasuku Taira, Ryo-taro Yamaguchi, Yasuo Kimura, and Michio Niwano.
  • Reconstitution of Human Ether-a-go-go-Related Gene Channels in Microfabricated Silicon Chips. Anal. Chem., 85, 4363-4369 (2013). Azusa Oshima, Ayumi Hirano-Iwata, Hideki Mozumi, Yutaka Ishinari, Yasuo Kimura, and Michio Niwano.
  • Reconstitution of Human Ion Channels into Solvent-Free Lipid Bilayers Enhanced by Centrifugal Forces. Biophys. J. 110, 2207-2215 (2016). Ayumi Hirano-Iwata, Yutaka Ishinari, Miyu Yoshida, Shun Araki, Daisuke Tadaki, Ryusuke Miyata, Kenichi Ishibashi, Hideaki Yamamoto, Yasuo Kimura, and Michio Niwano.
  • An electrically resistive sheet of glial cells for amplifying signals of neuronal extracellular recordings. Appl. Phys. Lett., 108, 023701 (2016). R. Matsumura, H. Yamamoto, M. Niwano, and A. Hirano-Iwata.
  • Label-Free Detection of Protein-Protein Interactions at the GaAs/Water Interface through Surface Infrared Spectroscopy: Discrimination between Specific and Nonspecific Interactions by Using Secondary Structure Analysis. Langmuir, 23, 12287-12292 (2007). Kota Onodera, Ayumi Hirano-Iwata, Ko-ichiro Miyamoto, Yasuo Kimura, Masatoshi Kataoka, Yasuo Shinohara, and Michio Niwano.


  • Award for young scientists in analytical chemistry (2005)
  • Award for Tohoku Researchers in Analytical chemistry (2014)
  • RIEC Award for Tohoku University Researchers (2015)
  • Minoru Ishida Award (2015)