The Advanced Institute for Materials Research (AIMR) at Tohoku University is one of nine Centers established by World Premier International Research Center Initiative Program (WPI) of the Japanese Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (MEXT), aimed at developing world-class research bases in Japan.

The mission of AIMR is to develop innovative materials useful for society by promoting understanding and control of materials based on a systematic knowledge ranging from atoms through meso- to macro-scale. To accomplish this mission, we took a strategy of a strong collaboration of mathematics and materials science by introducing the three target projects:

  • (1) Non-equilibrium Materials based on Mathematical Dynamical Systems,
  • (2) Topological Functional Materials,
  • (3) Multi-Scale Hierarchical Materials based on Discrete Geometric Analysis.

At FY2013, AIMR started the fourth target project,

  • (4) The Core Technology for Nano Energy Devices,

which is related to one of the goals of AIMR.

To promote research activities towards the missions of AIMR, we will organize AMIS2016 from February 21 through 24, 2016. The scientific scope of AMIS2016 will be “Harmonious collaborations between Mathematics and Materials Science”, and some sessions are focused on the target project (4), i.e., The Core Technology for Nano Energy Devices together with sessions of mathematics related with materials science. The other sessions including various topics of non-equilibrium materials, soft materials, material physics and devices will be also planned as before. 


Organizing committee

  • Motoko Kotani (Chair)

    Institute Director

  • Mingwei Chen

    Leader of Non-equilibrium Materials group

  • Katsumi Tanigaki

    Leader of Materials Physics group

  • Tadafumi Adschiri

    Leader of Soft Materials group

  • Tomokazu Matsue

    Leader of Device/Systems group

  • Yasumasa Nishiura

    Leader of Mathematical Science group

  • Masaru Tsukada

    Administrative Director

Scientific Committee

  • J Georg Bednorz

    Fellow, IBM Zurich Research Laboratory, 1987 Physics Nobel Laureate

  • Herbert Gleiter

    Professor, Institute of Nanotechnology, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

  • Venkatesh Narayanamurti

    John A. & Elizabeth S. Armstrong Professor, Harvard University

  • Ei-ichi Negishi

    Herbert C. Brown Distinguished Professor, Purdue University, 2010 Chemistry Nobel Laureate

  • Shigefumi Mori

    Director, Research Institute for Mathematical Sciences (RIMS) Kyoto University, 1990 Fields Medal