Seiji Samukawa Principal Investigator, Ph.D.

Job Professor
Group Device/System Group
Laboratory S. Samukawa Laboratory (will open in a new tab)
Address Institute of Fluid Science, Katahira Campus
(2-1-1, Katahira, Aoba-ku, Sendai 980-8577)
Tel +81-22-217-5240
Related Site

Research Interests

  • Atomic Layer Etching, Modification and Deposition Technologies based on Neutral Beam Process
  • Quantum Nano-devices (Solar Cells, LED and Thermo-electric conversion) based on Ordered Nano-structure fabricated by Fusion of Biotechnology and Nanotechnology
  • Cutting-edge Nano-devices based on New Materials (Ge, Ⅲ-Ⅴ, GaN series, 2D materials and Metal Oxide)

Main Publication List

  • Generating high-efficiency neutral beams by using negative ions in an inductively coupled plasma source, JOURNAL OF VACUUM SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY A-VACUUM SURFACES AND FILMS, Vol.20, No.5, (2002), 1566-1573, S. Samukawa, K. Sakamoto, K. Ichiki.
  • Pulse-time modulated plasma discharge for highly selective, highly anisotropic and charge-free etching, PLASMA SOURCES SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY, Vol.5, No.2, (1996), 132-138, S. Samukawa and T. Mieno
  • Impact of silicon quantum dot super lattice and quantum well structure as intermediate layer on p-i-n silicon solar cells, Progress in Photovoltaics: Research and Applications, Vol.24, No.6, (2016), 774–780, M. M. Rahman, M-Y Lee, Y-C Tsai, A. Higo, H. Sekhar, M. Igarashi, M. E. Syazwan, Y. Hoshi, K. Sawano, N. Usami, Y. Li and S. Samukawa
  • Amorphous carbon nitride thin films for electrochemical electrode: Effect of molecular structure and substrate materials, Carbon, Vol.93, November, (2015), 207-216, Y. Kikuchi, X. Chang, Y. Sakakibara, K. Y. Inoue, T. Matsue, T. Nozawa, and S. Samukawa
  • Optical Study of Sub-10 nm In0.3Ga0.7N Quantum Nanodisks in GaN Nanopillars, ACS Photonics, Vol. 4, (2017) ,1851-1857, A. Higo, T. Kiba, S. Chen, Y. Chen, T. Tanikawa, C. Thomas, C. Y. Lee, Y-C Lai, T. Ozaki, J. Takayama, I. Yamashita, A. Murayama, and S. Samukawa


  • Ichimura Award, New Technology Development Foundation (2008).
  • Fellow Award of Japan Society of Applied Physics (2008)
  • Prizes for Science and Technology, The Commendation for Science and Technology by the Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (2009)
  • Fellow Award of American Vacuum Society (2009)
  • Plasma Prize, American Vacuum Society (2010)

Related Information