Mingwei Chen Principal Investigator, Ph.D.

Job Professor
Group Bulk Metallic Glasses Group
Laboratory M. Chen Laboratory
Address Office 3-4, AIMR Laboratory Building, Katahira Campus
(2-1-1, Katahira, Aoba-ku, Sendai, 980-8577)
Tel 022-217-5992
E-Mail mwchen@jhu.edu
Related Site

Research Interests

  • Mechanical behavior and atomic structures of bulk metallic glasses
  • Dynamic properties of ultrahigh strength materials
  • Development and characterization of nanoporous metals

Main Publication List

  • M.W. Chen, E. Ma, K. Hemker, H. Sheng, Y. Wang, and X. Cheng, Deformation twinning in nanocrystalline aluminum, Science 300 (2003) 1275.
  • M.W. Chen, J. McCauley, and K. Hemker, Shock-induced localized amorphization in boron carbide, Science 299 (2003) 1563.
  • M. W. Chen, J. W. McCauley, D. P. Dandekar, N. K. Bourne, Dynamic plasticity and failure of high purity alumina, Nature Materials, 5, 614-618, 2006.
  • A. Hirata, T. Fujita, Y. R.Wen, J. H. Schneibel, C. T. Liu and M.W. Chen, Atomic structure of nanoclusters in oxide-dispersion-strengthened steels, Nature Mater. 10, 922 (2011).
  • X. Y. Lang, A. Hirata, T. Fujita, and M. W. Chen, Nanoporous metal/oxide hybrid electrodes for electrochemical supercapacitors, Nature Nanotechnology, 6 (2011) 232-236.A. Hirata, P. F. Guan, T. Fujita, Y. Hirotsu, A. Inoue, A. R. Yavari, T. Sakurai, and M. W. Chen, Direct observation of local atomic order in a metallic glass, Nature Materials 10 (2011) 28.
  • T. Fujita, P. Guan, K. McKenna, X. Lang, A. Hirata, L. Zhang, T. Tokunaga, S. Arai, Y. Yamamoto, N. Tanaka, Y. Ishikawa, N. Asao, Y. Yamamoto, J. Erlebacher, M. W. Chen Atomic origins of the high catalytic activity of nanoporous gold, Nature Materials 11 (9), 775-780 (2012).


  • The Senior Scientist Award, ISMANAM , 2013
  • Outstanding Oversea Chinese Scientists, China Academy of Sciences, 2010
  • Paul A. Siple Memorial Award for Army Research Achievements, U. S. Army, 2006.
  • Best Paper Award of Japanese Institute of Metals (JIM), 2000.
  • NRC Associateship Award from U. S. National Research Council, 1999.